I’m conflicted

I'm conflicted

My 2 best friends smoke weed. But here I am wondering what effects it has on the human body and whether or not they are making good choices. I suppose it’s none of my business what they do; however, I just feel that because I am their friend I should help guide them the right way… But then…. What is the right way? I’m not even sure anymore. I know I always had amazing ideas when I smoked, and Sarah has proved to me that she does too. But… What if, even with these amazing ideas, it’s affecting their bodies in terrible ways? I need to get to the bottom of this. I need to do research and find out the TRUTH about what marijuana does to a person. I feel like I won’t be able to accept it if I don’t.

3 thoughts on “I’m conflicted

  1. Salutations! I suspect that many people are having the same inner monologue about their loved ones as well. I happened to have a conversation with my father this evening (one of many) about his concern as well. I am a supporter of the legalization of Marijuana for personal use for what ever reason you choose. Marijuana is a natural alternative to several pharmaceuticals, many of which have numerous side effects and cause damage to the organs and body and provide relief from everything from anxiety to muscle spams. And compounds from the plant have proven to cure cancer! Side note, there are safer ways to consume marijuana such as water pipes or vaporization. I support your a quest for knowledge and confidence that your friends are going to be ok!!

    • itg3tsb3tter says:

      Thank you for your interest in my post. My own dilemma sprouts from the fact that after i got out of a bad relationship, in which much weed was smoked, every time I smoked I had bad experiences. It increased my anxiety and I would get very paranoid and over think the things happening in my life and the lives of those around me. I have since done some research, though there have not been many studies on marijuana, and have found that it can actually increase anxiety and depression in those that already have it. Recently however, when I smoke I have noticed that I am not as anxious or paranoid, but I do still feel it. Luckily my friends have been with me during my “episodes” and know how to calm me down. I am still conflicted as to whether or not marijuana is a good thing. That is one of the reasons I started this blog. So I can get insight from people other than my therapist. Obviously she is biased toward the negative.
      I once again would like to thank you in your interest in my post and hope that you may follow me through my journey and possibly help me.

      • You are so very welcome! I think that progressive thinking can be aided with communication. 🙂 So with that said, it looks like you may have a conditioned behavioral response to Marijuana because of your past experiences, to which you have attached anxiety and depression. Certainly, there have been studies that show that someone that is prone to anxiety and depression and uses Marijuana on a regular basis can have more anxiety and depression when it isn’t available. I would have to actually agree with that. However, a good example of this would be with someone who is in pain and regularly takes pain medication to sooth the symptoms. Once a tolerance is gained in the body, removing that factor would remove the “buffer zone”, which the person develops after taking the medication for a certain period of time. Their pain is amplified and worse, because the body was used to the “buffer zone.” I personally suffer from anxiety and panic attacks and have found much relief from Marijuana and prefer it to any other drug my doctor could prescribe. It is all natural and causes me no ill side effects. I also utilize it for muscle pain and pinched nerve pain, asthma (as it is a bronchodilator), sleep and menstruation ( I have endometreosis.. I know, I’m falling apart! lol). With Marijuana, I can be much more productive and maintain a more positive outlook on my body and my interaction with society at large.
        In regards to the your personal experience, there are a couple of factors you may want to take into account. One of those being the strain: Different strains of Marijuana give a different experience. For example, Sativa dominant Marijuana is more of a waking experience. I prefer to use a Sativa dominant during that day, because it doesn’t drag me down, it is a very cerebral experience. Whereas Indica dominant strains tend to work really well on pain, sleep, anxiety. It produces more of a heavy experience. Then you have strains that have been spliced together to create hybrids (Sativa/Indica hybrid). If you are in a medical state, I urge you to research the different strains and what they can do for the relief of the body, mind and soul. Being in a medical state allows you access to the most popular strains and is viewed in a medical aspect.
        Check this website out for a full Marijuana Strain Guide to give you an idea of what I am talking about. 🙂

        http://www.medicalmarijuanastrains.com

        I really like the Diesel strain for anxiety and Lemon Kush for asthma.

        Another thing to consider is how you consume Marijuana. Perhaps smoking is not for you. You might consider ingestion (baked goods) or even vaporization. Vaporization means no smoke, just pure vapor. So it is better for your lungs and body because you are not combusting (lighting on fire) your plant.
        I personally found that I enjoy all types of consumption, including vaporization.
        I hope all of this helps and wish you the best of luck on your journey towards knowledge and personal empowerment!

Leave a Reply

